Monday, 30 April 2018

MCM College Hosts its Annual Convocation: 1050 Students Awarded Degrees

By TricityNews
Chandigarh 30th April:- Celebrating 50 years of its continued excellence in education, MCM DAV College for Women hosted its Annual Convocation today. Jubilation marked the ceremony as over 1050 graduates and postgraduates received their degrees during the ceremony. Anurag Singh Thakur, Member of Parliament made the occasion even more memorable for the degree holders with his presence as the Chief Guest. The Guest of Honor R.K. Popli, Director Public Relations, Chandigarh and Special Guest Bikram Singh Rana, State Mission Officer, UT, Chandigarh were present during the event.
The function commenced with the presentation of Annual Report by the Principal of the college, Dr. Nisha Bhargava. The report provided glimpses of the commendable achievements of the college during the academic year, including academic, sports and cultural. Congratulating degree holders on the successful completion of an important phase of their lives, Anurag Singh Thakur gave them the mantra of 'Never give up' to live by, which even Justice Mehr Chand Mahajan espoused, and motivated the students to hold the baton of India's development and bring about qualitative change in the society and in the lives of those who do not have a voice. Commending MCM for standing up to the ideals of Justice Mehr Chand Mahajan, Anurag Singh Thakur expressed appreciation for MCM's crusade for women empowerment. College magazine Mehr Jyoti was also unveiled by the dignitaries during the function.  Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed upon Dr. Simi R. Singh, Department of Music, as an acknowledgement of her unparalleled contribution to the institution during her 40 years long association with the college. On this august occasion, 55 faculty members were also felicitated for their academic endeavors including publication of books, research projects, paper presentations at international level and completion of doctorate. Besides awarding the degrees, 12 university toppers were awarded Special Prizes, and 4 students of Mass Communication and 3 students of Zoology were given Award of Appreciation for their exceptional achievements and contribution in their respective fields.
Dr. Nisha Bhargava, MCM Principal congratulated the students for keeping alive the inimitable tradition of excellence of MCM through their awe-inspiring achievements. Advising the students to never rest on their laurels, Dr. Nisha exhorted them to work towards their goals with focused determination and wished them luck for their future endeavors. 

No comments: